COVID-19 Consumer News

Checkpoints and Security Checks Are Back in MECQ Areas

Public transportation is also suspended.

By: Denisse Shawntel Tan | August 05, 2020
Share this article
Facebook facebook
Facebook twitter

MECQ Areas, Metro Manila, quarantine , quarantine pass, Public transportation , checkpoints

Metro Manila and four nearby provinces will be returning to a stricter quarantine level.

Checkpoints will be set up in Metro Manila and other areas under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), namely Cavite, Rizal, Bulacan, and Laguna. The Philippine National Police (PNP) announced that they will set checkpoints in borders between towns and cities in MECQ areas [1].

According to Joint Task Force Lt. Gen. Guillermo Eleazar, the checkpoints will be placed in boundaries to prevent residents from buying goods and services in other affected areas. Eleazar also added that authorized persons outside of residence (APOR) will be allowed to cross borders in MECQ areas.

The following persons are classified as APORs:

• Frontliners (medical, security, emergency responders, and funeral services)
• Essential workers (banks, money transfer services, markets, supermarkets, groceries, convenience stores, sari-sari stores, pharmacies, restaurants, and other stores for basic goods)
• Utilities employees (water companies, energy companies, telecommunications, and sanitation)
• Government employees and officials
• Media personalities
• Agricultural workers
• Business Processing Output (BPO) workers
• Export-oriented business personnel
• Delivery personnel of cargoes and logistics employees

Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Eduardo Año also added that police checkpoints will be set up in places leading to general community quarantine and modified general community quarantine areas [3]. The specific areas for the said checkpoints are yet to be announced by the PNP.

Moreover, Año also said in an interview that Metro Manila mayors will update rules regarding the quarantine pass system in their respective jurisdictions. Previously under this quarantine status, only minimal movement of residents was allowed; people were only permitted to go out only for essential activities such as emergency cases and purchasing important goods. Public transportation was also suspended.

Metro Manila, Cavite, Rizal, Laguna, and Bulacan will be under MECQ from August 4 to 18. The complete guidelines and protocols for the affected areas are yet to be announced.

Go to Yoorekka for more useful local information during this pandemic.

Newsletter Banner
About Denisse Shawntel Tan
Denisse Tan is currently a work in progress: she’s an aspiring writer, artist, and fashion designer! She’s trying to figure out how to manage her time in achieving all of her goals while also taking in life as humanly possible. Aside from art, she’s a big fan of the color pink, disco music, Bratz dolls, and Genshin Impact. By age 35, she plans to travel to New York City 🗽.
Learn more stories on:
Location Tags:
Disclaimer: All articles in the Consumers Magazine of Yoorekka are for general information and entertainment purposes only. Although careful research has been made in writing them, Yoorekka does not make any warranty about the completeness and accuracy of all information presented in our articles. Our content is not intended to be used in place of legal, medical, or any professional advice.
Follow Us On:
About Us
Privacy Policy
Register My Store
HTML Sitemap
Submit My Favorites
XML Sitemap
Terms and Conditions
FAQ Page
Copyright 2013 - 2023 ShoppersGuide Marketing Inc. All Rights Reserved
This website uses cookies to enhance the user experience. For more information please see our privacy policy